What is project management?

Project Management is the planning, monitoring, control and completion of a project. Project management systems describe how these activities are to be implemented concretely. A project management system typically consists of:

  • process descriptions
    (eg for the transfer of work packages)
  • fields of knowledge
    (eg cost management)
  • role descriptions
    (eg for the project manager)
  • methods
    (eg earned value analysis)
  • templates
    (eg project status report)
  • Other management systems or references to applicable management systems
    (eg quality management system)

Topics in project management

Project Management As a cross-sectional task, it covers a wide range of topics. Depending on the type of project and industry, these topics will have different priorities for a project.

Initiation and project start

It is true that a project does not formally begin until the project manager has awarded the project contract to the project manager, but the stakeholders of a project set the course for the subsequent implementation in the run-up to a project. In addition to clients and project managers, key decision-makers include program management, project portfolio management, corporate management and financiers of a project.

An exact goal definition is one of the most important steps within the project initiation. Only through a clearly defined project goal is realistic planning possible. The definition of a goal may include the development of a business case, the preparation of a specification and the design of a project contract. Perhaps a moderated workshop of all those involved in the project makes sense, for example in the form of a kick-off meeting.

During the initiation and the start of a project at least the project planning takes place. In addition, a risk analysis is strongly recommended.

planning

In addition to monitoring and control, planning a project is one of the three core tasks of the project manager. The project plan is the crucial reference with which all actual sizes (eg costs incurred) are compared.

to project planning belong:

  • Planning of the scope of services,
    ie which works (also called "products", "deliverables", "delivery items") must be created in the project.
  • scheduling,
    that is, schedules and milestones, work packages, and operations are scheduled and timed.
  • cost planning,
    ie the estimated cost of the project must be estimated.
  • Planning the financing,
    ie the coverage of the project costs must be regulated.
  • resource planning,
    ie employees, machinery, equipment and infrastructure must be reserved for the project.

All plans are highly interdependent and must be coordinated.

There are a number of methods for project planning, such as project structure planning or network planning technology.

Monitoring and controlling

A project without Controlling is like driving a car by ear - the crash is inevitable. In order to keep the project on track, the project manager must constantly keep an eye on target and actual data. Monitoring and control therefore links all project management processes during project implementation.

On-time delivery, progress in content and cost-effectiveness are to be constantly monitored. This is not about employee control or penny counting. The trick is to collect meaningful data in order to initiate appropriate corrective action in case of deviations from the plan. This includes the observation of the project progress and the comparison with the project planning. Reports and other project texts must therefore be written in such a way that the project managers can identify deviations as early as possible in order to develop and take control measures.

Performance evaluation, forecasting and decision-making on control measures are the principal activities of the project manager, for which he has a number of specific tasks Project ManagementMethods, such as the earned value analysis (see below).

The lead task of a project leader is to implement the monitoring and control of a project with the project team. For this he needs appropriate soft skills, such as communication skills (see below).

project completion

Central task of project completion is for the project manager to obtain from the client the acceptance of the project results. In addition, he must also dissolve the project team, create a post-calculation and secure experience. Furthermore, he has to prepare a final project report and check all documents of the project, eg the Lister of the open points, and conclude them so that they are available for a later revision.

RSS
Follow by Email
Facebook
Facebook
LinkedIn
SOCIALICON
en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

fbpx

Was ist Projektmanagement?

Projektmanagement ist die Planung, die Überwachung, die Steuerung und der Abschluss eines Projekts. Wie diese Tätigkeiten konkret durchzuführen sind, beschreiben Projektmanagementsysteme. Ein Projektmanagementsystem besteht typischerweise aus:

  • Prozessbeschreibungen
    (z.B. für die Übergabe von Arbeitspaketen)
  • Wissensgebieten
    (z.B. Kostenmanagement)
  • Rollenbeschreibungen
    (z.B. für den Projektleiter)
  • Methoden
    (z.B. Earned Value Analyse)
  • Vorlagen
    (z.B. Projektstatusbericht)
  • Weiteren Managementsystemen oder Verweisen auf anzuwendende Managementsysteme
    (z.B. Qualitätsmanagementsystem)

Themengebiete im Projektmanagement

Projektmanagement umfasst als Querschnittsaufgabe vielfältige Themengebiete. Je nach Projektart und Branche werden bei einem Projekt diese Themengebiete unterschiedliche Priorität haben.

Initiierung und Projektstart

Zwar beginnt ein Projekt formal erst mit der Erteilung des Projektauftrags durch den Auftraggeber an den Projektleiter, aber die Stakeholder eines Projekts stellen entscheidende Weichen für die anschließende Durchführung bereits im Vorfeld eines Projekts. Neben Auftraggeber und Projektleiter zählen zu den wesentlichen Entscheidungsträgern das Programm-Management, das Projektportfoliomanagement, die Unternehmensleitungen und die Finanziers eines Projekts.

Eine exakte Zieldefinition ist einer der wichtigsten Schritte innerhalb der Projektinitiierung. Erst durch ein eindeutig definiertes Projektziel wird eine realistische Planung möglich. Zur Zieldefinition können die Entwicklung eines Business Cases, die Ausarbeitung eines Lastenhefts und die Gestaltung eines Projektauftrags gehören. Möglicherweise ist auch ein moderierter Workshop aller Projektbeteiligten sinnvoll, z.B. in Form eines Kick-Off-Meetings.

Im Laufe der Initiierung und des Starts eines Projekts findet mindestens die Projektplanung statt. Dringend zu empfehlen ist darüber hinaus eine Risikoanalyse.

Planung

Die Planung eines Projekts zählt neben Überwachung und Steuerung zu den drei Kernaufgaben des Projektleiters. Der Projektplan ist die ausschlaggebende Referenz, mit der alle Ist-Größen (z.B. entstandene Kosten) verglichen werden.

Zur Projektplanung gehören:

  • Planung des Leistungsumfangs,
    d.h. welche Werke (auch „Produkte“, „Deliverables“, „Liefergegenstände“ genannt) im Projekt erstellt werden müssen.
  • Terminplanung,
    d.h. für Phasen, Meilensteine, Arbeitspakete und Vorgänge werden Termine und zeitliche Abfolgen geplant.
  • Kostenplanung,
    d.h. der voraussichtliche Kostengang des Projekts muss geschätzt werden.
  • Planung der Finanzierung,
    d.h. die Deckung der Projektkosten muss geregelt werden.
  • Ressourcenplanung,
    d.h. Mitarbeiter, Maschinen, Sachmittel und Infrastruktur müssen für das Projekt reserviert werden.

Alle Pläne sind stark voneinander abhängig und müssen aufeinander abgestimmt werden.

Für die Projektplanung gibt es eine Reihe von Methoden, wie z.B. die Projektstrukturplanung oder die Netzplantechnik.

Überwachung und Steuerung (Controlling)

Ein Projekt ohne Controlling ist wie Auto fahren nach Gehör – der Crash ist vorprogrammiert. Um das Projekt auf der Spur zu halten, muss der Projektleiter beständig Soll- und Ist-Daten im Blick haben. Die Überwachung und Steuerung verknüpft deshalb alle Projektmanagementprozesse bei der Projektdurchführung.

Termintreue, inhaltlicher Fortschritt und Kostentreue sind permanent zu überprüfen. Hierbei geht es nicht um Mitarbeiterkontrolle oder Erbsenzählerei. Die Kunst besteht darin, aussagefähige Daten zu erheben, um bei Planabweichungen geeignete Korrekturmaßnahmen einleiten zu können. Hierzu gehört die Beobachtung des Projektfortschritts und der Vergleich mit der Projektplanung. Berichte und andere Projekttexte müssen deshalb so verfasst werden, dass die Projektverantwortlichen möglichst frühzeitig Abweichungen erkennen können, um Steuerungsmaßnahmen entwickeln und ergreifen zu können.

Leistungsbewertung, die Erstellung von Prognosen und die Entscheidung über Steuerungsmaßnahmen sind die wesentlichen Tätigkeiten des Projektleiters, für die ihm eine Reihe spezifischer Projektmanagement-Methoden zur Verfügung stehen, wie z.B. die Earned Value Analyse (s.u.).

Die Führungsaufgabe eines Projektleiters besteht darin, die Überwachung und Steuerung eines Projekts mit dem Projektteam umzusetzen. Hierfür benötigt er entsprechende Soft Skills, wie z.B. Kommunikationsfähigkeit (s.u.).

Projektabschluss

Zentrale Aufgabe des Projektabschlusses ist für den Projektleiter, vom Auftraggeber die Abnahme der Projektergebnisse einholen. Darüber hinaus muss er aber auch das Projektteam auflösen, eine Nachkalkulation erstellen und Erfahrungswerte sichern. Weiterhin muss er einen Projektabschlussbericht erstellen und alle Dokumente des Projekts, z.B. die Lister der offenen Punkte, überprüfen und so abschließen, dass sie für eine spätere Revision zur Verfügung stehen.

RSS
Follow by Email
Facebook
Facebook
Google+
Google+
https://vemaregio.de/projektmanagement">
LinkedIn
SOCIALICON
de_DEDeutsch
en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DEDeutsch